Eight of 15 ICC Champions Trophy fixtures sold out

Doug Mendoza
May 13, 2017

"The United Kingdom is an excellent location to host the ICC Champions Trophy".

Here's what Shane Watson wrote in his column for the ICC recently, "For me personally, the ICC Champions Trophy in 2009 was really the first time that I felt like I belonged to the global stage knowing that I was able to contribute in a strong way to my country winning the tournament".

"You are aware that the squad representing India at the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 was to be submitted by 25th April 2017 but the squad has not even been selected as yet", the administrators told BCCI joint secretary Amitabh Choudhary in an email. "If I look at the company of players who have played in the six events to date, I feel humbled and honoured as these gentlemen are some of the finest our sport has ever seen".

India retain eight players from the squad which won the trophy four years ago including skipper Virat Kohli.

Yuvraj, who will be playing in the ICC Champions Trophy after a hiatus of 11 years, however said it would be easier said than done against top cricketing nations of the world. Those celebrations were very special for everyone and for me personally.

South Africa won the inaugural ICC tournament in Dhaka, Bangladesh in 1998, when it was known as the ICC Knock-Out.

Jeff Sessions Demands Prosecutors Seek Most Severe Sentences For All Crimes
There are a staggering 2 million people in the prison system today. "You collect it by the barrel of a gun", Sessions said. The memo concedes there will be cases in which "good judgment" will warrant a prosecutor veering from that rule.

Batshuayi's late victor guides Chelsea to Premier League glory
Every game I feel like I have played with them. "A player who didn't play a lot scores the winning goal for the championship". I'm wearing the tracksuit, but I think I'm living a moment very important. "It's a dream which is coming true", he added.

Phaedra Parks 'blames RHOA producers for date rape rumor'
That lie cost Parks her lucrative job on the reality show along with her friendship with Williams. "I really like Phaedra Parks". However, she's not looking to mend that broken relationship either.

PAKISTAN: Sarfraz Ahmad (captain), Ahmad Shahzad, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Fahim Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Hassan Ali, Imad Wasim, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hafeez, Shadab Khan, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal and Wahab Riaz.

The Proteas go into the Champions Trophy as the No 1 ODI-ranked team in the world, and Ingram thinks this year will be different.

The Proteas, who will be led by AB de Villiers, will begin their Champions Trophy campaign against Sri Lanka on the 3rd of June.

India is clubbed with Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka in one of the two groups.

The BCCI was outvoted 13-1 last week at the ICC meetings in its bid to stall the new deal which considerably slashes India's share from global events in the 2015-2023 cycle.

All the teams can make changes to their squads without needing an ICC approval until May 24.

Other reports by GizPress

Discuss This Article