Gophers Basketball Headed To Providence For Gavitt Games

Angie Massey
May 25, 2017

Last year, the Gophers hosted St. John's of NY and earned a 92-86 victory. All Gavitt Tipoff Games will be televised by Fox Sports 1 or Big Ten Network.

Game times will be announced at a later date.

The Gavitt Tipoff Games is an annual early-season series played between the two conferences and named in honor of Dave Gavitt, founder of the BIG EAST and basketball visionary.

Pitino is no stranger to the Friars as a coach, having faced them four times while an assistant at Louisville from 2007-09 and 2011-12 when both schools were members of the BIG EAST. Pitino was also an assistant coach on the 2005-06 Northeastern squad that faced the Friars in Providence.

Manchester unites amid Europa League win
United midfielder Juan Mata added: "It's massive for us". "We have won a trophy the club has never won so we are really happy". Information from the Press Association was used in this report .

Paresh Rawal says being coerced to remove tweets against Arundhati Roy
In the tweet that is now deleted, he had written: " Instead of tying stone pelter on the army jeep tie up Arundhati Roy! ". Even the BJP distanced itself from his remark. "Look at on the lighter side of it and don't over blow it,".

Arsenal must ensure Sanchez, Ozil stay, says Cech
But an even bigger immediate blow is that we won't have Koscielny and Gabriel available for next week's Cup Final. Arsenal's Alexis Sanchez celebrates after scoring the second goal against Sunderland.

Pitino is a graduate of Providence. NU also returns Evan Taylor, who started 21 games last season, and Jordy Tshimanga, who made nine Big Ten starts as a freshman in 2016-17.

The Musketeers and Badgers will play for the first time since their memorable meeting in the 2016 NCAA Tournament. After playing a home game in the Big-Ten ACC Challenge last season, IU will likely play a road game in the Big-Ten ACC Challenge.

In other match-ups, Purdue faces Marquette, Maryland hosts Butler, Northwestern hosts Creighton, Indiana heads to Seton Hall, St. John's hosts Nebraska, Wisconsin hosts Xavier and Illinoi hosts DePaul. In the non-conference season, IU will play three ACC Teams. Big East teams will participate a minimum of six times in the eight-year series. He was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 2006. Big Ten teams will play a minimum of four times total in the event, which is now scheduled to run through 2022.

Other reports by GizPress

Discuss This Article