PCB chairman in Sri Lanka to attend ACC meeting

Pauline Gross
August 12, 2017

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has recalled 13 players - 10 centrally contracted and three not contracted - to the country owing to their national and domestic commitments. Three cricketers without central contracts - Kamran Akmal, Sohail Tanvirand Mohammad Sami - have also been asked to return after they were selected by Rawalpindi, Faisalabad and Lahore Whites for the National T20 Cup.

Diplomatic tensions between the two nations have prevented the neighbours from playing a bilateral series since 2007, apart from Pakistan's tour to India in 2012-2013 when they played a short limited-overs series. It is worth mentioning that NA-120 by-election after judicial ouster of ex-PM Nawaz Sharif has resulted into rescheduling of World XI visit which still awaits final clearance.

In order to consolidate measures to ensure the return of worldwide cricket in Pakistan, ICC had confirmed sending a World XI for a three-match T20 series to be played at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

The decision was taken at the ACC meeting held in Colombo which was chaired by Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB)'s newly appointed chairman Najam Sethi. Amid this tight schedule, the PCB announced a National T20 Championship running from August 25 to September 10.

August 21 solar eclipse requires safe viewing
All guests checking in at a hotel in Kansas City, Kansas, on Sunday, Aug. 20, will receive complimentary solar eclipse glasses. The longest that the sun will be blocked during this upcoming eclipse at any given point, will be 2 minutes and 41.6 seconds.

Arsène Wenger praises match-winner Olivier Giroud for staying at Arsenal
After that, though, Leicester City had the Gunners on the ropes for most of the game, taking a 3-2 lead in the second half off of Jamie Vardy's second goal of the match.

Samsung Gear Sport smartwatch tipped by FCC entry
Samsung is headed to IFA later this month , and it's starting to sound like we'll see some new smartwatches there. Given that it's passing through the FCC right now, the device is probably nearly ready to be released.

PCB further added: "The series has been brought forward to mid-September because the Punjab government wants it to be held before the NA-120 election on September 17".

The tournament will feature eight teams, with four - Pakistan, India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka - qualifying automatically.

However, a series between Pakistan and Sri Lanka scheduled for September and October is still likely to be played in the UAE.

Pakistani cricketers will now report to Arthur on August 22 and will undergo a fitness test at the National Cricket Academy, followed by a pre-series training camp.

Other reports by GizPress

Discuss This Article