York author shortlisted for Man Booker Prize

Ruben Ruiz
September 13, 2017

In an announcement that has further escalated the anticipation among the literary circles, the shortlist for the Man Booker Prize (Fiction) 2017 reveals two parallel races for the much coveted prize.

This year's judges, chaired by Baroness Lola Young, announced their shortlist of six titles on Wednesday morning.

Paul Auster, Emily Fridlund, Mohsin Hamid, Fiona Mozley, George Saunders and Ali Smith are today announced as the six shortlisted authors for the 2017 Man Booker Prize for Fiction.

Missing from the list were former victor Arundhati Roy along with acclaimed authors Sebastian Barry and Zadie Smith. Lincoln in the Bardo, the first full-length novel by Saunders - an acclaimed short story writer and Folio Prize victor - completes the list.

Roy, who won the literary award worth 50,000 pounds for her debut book "The God of Small Things" in 1997, had featured on the long-list for her latest novel "The Ministry of Utmost Happiness". The 70-year-old, nominated for '4321', is up against two other Americans - short story writer George Saunders, for his first full-length novel 'Lincoln in the Bardo', and debut writer Emily Fridlund with 'History of Wolves'.

"Exit West" is Hamid's fourth novel and what makes the nomination a matter of pride is the fact that he's made it to The Man Booker shortlist for the second time.

On the other hand, the other novels that have failed to make the cut, like "The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead or "Swing Time" by Zadie Smith were as compelling as the ones that are still in the race.

Suzuki Swift Sport breaks cover at Frankfurt
Suzuki is not yet quoting acceleration figures but they are expected to be significantly improved over the outgoing Swift Sport. Suzuki says those changes result in a "15 per cent increase in camber rigidity during cornering" over the last Swift Sport.

Trading Focus: A Deep Dive into WH Smith PLC (SMWH.L)
The Firm rents a range of construction and industrial equipment across a range of applications to a diverse customer base. The Company's geographical divisions include the United Kingdom, Europe and Africa, the Americas and Asia Pacific.

4 iOS 11 features that will be genuinely useful
APPLE has revamped its iPhone line-up with three new flagship handsets, including the most expensive in the company's history. With the iOS 11, users will be better able to multitask, there will be improvements to the camera and new safety features .

The shortlist was whittled down from a longlist of 13 books.

"Playful, sincere, unsettling, fierce: Here is a group of novels grown from tradition but also radical and contemporary", she added.

Alongside Saunders, the US contenders are Auster's story of parallel lives, "4321", and Emily Fridlund's Midwest coming-of-age tale "History of Wolves".

Young is joined on the judging panel for this year's prize by the literary critic Lila Azam Zanganeh, the novelist Sarah Hall, artist Tom Phillips and travel writer Colin Thubron.

The 2017 victor will be announced on Tuesday 17 October in London's Guildhall, at a dinner that brings together the shortlisted authors and well-known figures from the literary world.

In the meantime, there will be a number of public events featuring the shortlisted authors.

Other reports by GizPress

Discuss This Article