England in top tier of new UEFA Nations League

Doug Mendoza
October 12, 2017

The Netherlands' 2-0 win over Sweden in their final game in World Cup qualifying Group D took them above Wales, into 12th place in UEFA's co-efficient rankings, to claim the final place in League A.

The Uefa Nations League group games will take place during global breaks in September, October and November 2018 and the four top group winners will play off in the summer of 2019.

Elsewhere, League A consists of the 12 top-ranked teams: Germany, Portugal, Belgium, Spain, France, England, Switzerland, Italy, Poland, Iceland, Croatia and the Netherlands.

Teams will be split into four groups of three and play on four of the six matchdays which are spread throughout September, October and November 2018.

Euro 2020 qualifying will then take place between March and November 2019, with the Uefa Nations League Finals for the top four teams in June 2019.

However, the final four places at Euro 2020 will be decided by the Nations League with the winners of the 16 groups going into a mini play-off occurring in March 2020.

If the winners of the Nations League group have already qualified via the normal route, their place will go to the next best team in their group that hasn't secured a place.

Sylvester Stallone will direct and produce Creed 2
Post-" Creed ", he's signed on to direct Marvel's first black superhero movie " Black Panther " which reunites him with Jordan . Stallone will also write and produce the film, with previous director Ryan Coogler remaining on board as an executive producer.

Australia shatter Syria's World Cup dream with extra time victor
Tim Cahill of Australia (left) celebrates with teammate after scoring against Syria during the match, played in Sydney . The players have had to fight all the way through qualifying and they believe in themselves.

Twitter could soon let you bookmark tweets to read later
Facebook recently introduced a very similar tool, which you can use to bookmark status updates, videos, articles and pictures. While a bookmarking feature would be nice to have, it's probably a niche addition that mostly affects Twitter's power users.

League C: Hungary, Romania, Scotland, Slovenia, Greece, Serbia, Albania, Norway, Montenegro, Israel, Bulgaria, Finland, Cyprus, Estonia, Lithuania.

Today it was announced which teams will feature in the four leagues.

Division D: Azerbaijan, Macedonia, Georgia, Belarus, Armenia, Faroe Islands, Latvia, Luxembourg, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Liechtenstein, Malta, Kosovo, Andorra, San Marino and Gibraltar. The four group winners are promoted to League A, while those who finish bottom will be relegated to League C. The draw for the groups will be in January 2018.

This continues accordingly until each of the groups have four teams in the play-offs.

Each league will have its own play-off competition with single-leg semi-final and final to decide who gets the final four places.

Euro 2020 qualification will begin after the group stages of the Nations League concludes and will run throughout 2019, with the play-offs taking place the following Spring.

When it was unveiled in January the new Uefa Nations League was touted as the answer to "rejuvenate national team football".

Other reports by GizPress

Discuss This Article