Rahul Gandhi constitutes Steering Committee for Plenary Session

Ebony Scott
February 18, 2018

Rahul Gandhi on Friday set in motion the process of picking a Steering Committee, which replaces the Congress Working Committee (CWC), ahead of the upcoming plenary session.

"The steering committee will function in place of the Working Committee of the party", AICC general secretary Janardhan Dwivedi said.

Chairperson of the Congress Parliamentary Party Sonia Gandhi, former prime minister Manmohan Singh, besides other leaders like AK Antony, Ahmed Patel, Ghulam Nabi Azad and Mallikarjun Kharge attended the meeting.

Addressing the meeting of the steering committee, Rahul gave an indication into what changes can be expected in the Congress under him.

With election fever gripping Karnataka, the Congress on Saturday chose to hold its three-day plenary in the national capital from March 16 to 18.

Winter Olympics: Swiss athletes hit by norovirus outbreak
She was forced to sit out the Sochi Games four years ago after tearing ligaments in her right knee. Dom Parson's celebrated with gusto after winning Britain's first skeleton medal in 70 years.

Small earthquake felt in Wales, southern England
The British Geological Society says an natural disaster of a "reasonable size" for the United Kingdom struck near Swansea. Dyfed Powys Police force said it had received "an extremely high volume" of calls relating to tremors.

'No Ethiopia military takeover' despite state of emergency
The warning is for its personnel to suspend all travels outside of the capital as a precautionary measure. The state of emergency will be presented for lawmakers' approval within 15 days, Siraj said.

Mr Randeep Surjewala, however, did not clarify whether the issue of holding elections to the Congress Working Committee was discussed.

He said that in the 133 years of the party's history, the elections to the CWC were held only five times.

The party's plenary session will be attended by all AICC delegates who elected the new Congress chief.

However, some permanent invitees like Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh, Vilas Muttemwar, RK Dhawan, Shivajirao Deshmukh, MV Rajasekharan and Mohsina Kidwai have been dropped. The Congress constitution mandates that 12 of the 25 members be elected at the AICC session but the provision has not been invoked for last 21 years. "The answer perhaps would be no", he said, taking a dig at the ruling party. Till now CWC members have mostly been selected by the party president.

Other reports by GizPress

Discuss This Article