BCCI's new pay list

Doug Mendoza
March 9, 2018

However, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane found themselves in the A category after having been among the best paid Indian cricketers past year.

The Supreme Court appointed Committee of Administrators for BCCI announced a new and restructured Annual Player Contracts for the period from October 2017 to September 2018.

Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah have been clubbed in Grade A +. Among all these seven players, Rahane is the only cricketer who is now featuring in all the three formats of the game.

Former captain and talismanic wicketkeeper Mahendra Singh Dhoni was placed in the A category and will take home Rs 5 crore.

"Their logic was this category would have only players featuring in all three formats, players who are in the top-10 rankings", Rai added.

The women playing XI will get Rs 12,500, while the reserves will receive Rs 6,250 for every domestic game. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced on Wednesday the Annual Player Contracts with four categories - A+, A, B and C.

Virat Dhoni BCCI contract

The BCCI has also trimmed the contract list from 32 to 26. The CoA had made a decision to finalise the contracts after the BCCI finance committee did not pay any heed to call for a meeting and finalise the proposal which was prepared after discussions with head coach Ravi Shastri, skipper Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni.

The CoA chose to withhold Mohammad Shami's contract after the pacer's wife accused him of domestic violence and adultery. Kohli is the only player from last year's Grade A to move up to Grade A+.

KL Rahul, Umesh Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Hardik Pandya, Ishant Sharma and Dinesh Karthik have been awarded Grade B contracts. who will get Rs. 3 crore each.

"Hence, to insulate the player compensation, the CoA has sanctioned the creation of a "Players Revenue/Compensation Equalisation Fund" (PR/CEF) to which the BCCI will contribute approximately Rs 125 crore per annum from its surplus", the BCCI statement read.

In regards to the C contract category, it comprised of Kedar Jadhav, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Axar Patel, Karun Nair, Parthiv Patel and Jayant Yadav.

Geneva Motor Show: The Rimac C_Two
The front wheels each get a single-speed transmission and each of the rear wheels has a two-speed gearbox using a carbon clutch. An active front hood channels air from underneath the auto up from the bonnet and on towards the roof for extra down force.

Secret $560M Powerball victor has lawyers pick up prize
She is still going to work and has bodyguards she can call should her identity suddenly become public. Crimesider takes a look at how some lottery winners wound up mu...

Arsene Wenger uses boxer analogy to describe Arsenal's nightmare run of form
And defensively, they worked hard as a unit - marshalled by skipper Laurent Koscielny - to deny Milan space in attacking areas. He wants his players to be competitive and aggressive: he was like that as a player, so I'm not surprised.

Other reports by GizPress

Discuss This Article