BJD leaders file nomination for Rajya Sabha seats

Pauline Gross
March 10, 2018

Dissent has surfaced within BJD over its decision to nominate media baron Soumya Ranjan Patnaik and educationist Achyuta Samanta to the Rajya Sabha.

They filed their papers before the Returning officer at the Odisha Legislative Assembly in presence of Chief Minister and BJD president Naveen Patnaik.

While Mujibulla Khan has been appointed as the Chairman of Odisha State Cashew Development Corporation, Pravat Aditya Mishra has been given the charge of Chairman in Odisha Agro Industries Corporation.

The election of the three BJD candidates to the Upper House will be a smooth affair since the party has the advantage of having 117 legislators in the 147-member State Assembly. "We have always raised the Special Category Status for Odisha and we are doing so again", Naveen Patnaik said speaking to reporters. While his wife's immovable property and movable property were to the tune of Rs 1.25 crore and Rs 2.12 crore, respectively as disclosed in the affidavit.

Schmidt Will Announce Irish Team At Lunchtime
Ringrose enters the clash slightly cold with just 113 minutes of rugby under his belt since Leinster's New Year's Day win over Connacht.

DeShone Kizer heads to Packers in Damarious Randall trade
The Browns were loaded with draft picks after Sashi Brown stockpiled them the past few seasons before being pushed out the door. The decision to move Kizer give Tyrod Taylor the clear path of being the bridge quarterback for the Browns next season.

When do the clocks go forward in 2018?
By 1966, airlines and other clock-watching businesses exhausted of such quirks and pushed Congress to pass the Uniform Time Act. Energy savings: The DOT says people more spend time outside in the evenings during DST, meaning less energy is used at home.

Soumya Ranjan Patnaik, founder and editor of leading Odia daily "Sambad" and Achyuta Samanta, noted educationist and founder of KIIT and KISS, had joined the party on March 7.

As per the schedule announced by the Election Commission, the last date of filing nominations is March 12, scrutiny of nominations is slated for March 13 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is March 15.

The polling and counting will be held between 9.00 am and 4.00 pm on March 23.

The tenure of three members in the Upper House - A.U. Singh Deo and Dilip Tirkey of the BJD and BJD-supported Independent A.V. Swami - is coming to an end on April 3.

Other reports by GizPress

Discuss This Article