UEFA nominates Salah, Modric and Ronaldo for player of the year award

Doug Mendoza
August 20, 2018

Luka Modric, Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah are the final nominees to be the Uefa men's Player of the Year.

Mohamed Salah won the golden boot award last season after scoring 32 Premier League goals for Liverpool and also steered the Reds to the Champions League final in Kiev losing to Real Madrid.

His former team-mate in Madrid, Modric, was a World Cup runner-up with Croatia and the victor of the FIFA Golden Ball.

Messi has twice won the award, while he finished runner-up to Ronaldo last season.

For the women's award, the shortlist of three players was selected by a jury composed of the coaches of the 12 highest-ranked teams in the latest UEFA women's national team rankings, together with the coaches of the 8 clubs which participated in the quarter-finals of the 2017/18 UEFA Women's Champions League.

Man City MF De Bruyne injured in training
The new show was premiered at a lavish event in Manchester on Wednesday evening with Pep Guardiola and his squad in attendance. De Bruyne scored eight goals and made 16 assists as City lifted the league title with record-breaking 100 points last season.

Messi makes Liga history with Barcelona's 6,000th goal
Alba paid tribute to Messi post-match, claiming no player will ever replicate the 31-year-old. The free kick goal was Barcelona's 6000th La Liga goal .

Weinstein accuser Asia Argento paid teen who made sex assault claim
Argento's counsel who handled the settlement, Carrie Goldberg, described the money as "helping Mr Bennett" in the documents. In response, Argento reportedly agreed to pay Bennett a total of $380,000, beginning with a lump sum payment of $200,000.

Antoine Griezmann came fourth in the voting, having won the Europa League with Atletico Madrid and the World Cup with France, while Barcelona's Lionel Messi was fifth despite leading his side to the domestic double.

Other players who could consider themselves unfortunate not to have made the list include World Cup victor Kylian Mbappe and Manchester City's Kevin De Bruyne, with their lack of success in the Champions League again possibly a factor.

The awards will be presented at this season's Champions League group-stage draw in Monaco on August 30.

Pernille Harder, Ada Hegerberg and Amandine Henry have been shortlisted for the women's award.

Other reports by GizPress

Discuss This Article