All the Winners List, Marta Wins Best Women's Footballer Award, Lu

Doug Mendoza
September 25, 2018

Argentina and Barcelona forward Messi was snubbed for the top-three of the Men's Award which consists of Ronaldo (Juventus and Portugal), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool and Egypt) and Luka Modric (Real Madrid and Croatia).

Croatia's captain was an inspirational figure as they surpassed all expectations to reach the World Cup final and also played a big role in Madrid's Champions League and Club World Cup wins. It is my teammates from Real Madrid and Croatia.

Modric's win breaks the Lionel Messi-Ronaldo duopoly of the last 10 years and it follows his player of the tournament prize at Russian Federation 2018 and UEFA player of the year accolade last month.

Ronaldo, the victor of the award the previous two years, finished second to Modric.

Marta and Luka Modric were crowned Fifa's best women's and women's player.

Salah's goal for Liverpool against Merseyside rivals Everton in the Premier League won the Goal of the Year, which is voted for by fans, ahead of Gareth Bale's spectacular overhead kick for Real Madrid in the Champions League final.

The former Real Madrid "Galactico" clinched his third Champions League title in a row and fifth overall last season.

"We are nothing without our players and I want to thank my whole team who worked to get me here and get me this trophy tonight".

Paul Pogba explains why Alexis Sanchez will come good at Manchester United
Paul Pogba has urged Jose Mourinho to encourage Manchester United to adopt a more attacking approach at Old Trafford . Asked what is stopping United attacking more, Pogba said: "I can't tell you because I'm a player".

Apple Watch Series 4 teardown reveals the magic behind the redesigned wearable
When Apple said its new Apple Watch heart monitoring capabilities were FDA cleared , they meant only FDA cleared, it seems. The Apple Watch Series 4 now boasts a 291.8mAh battery, which is 4 percent bigger than its previous model of 42mm.

Earl Thomas trade rumors: Seahawks S asked about chatter
After the game, Thomas explained that he thought Sunday could've been his last game with the Seahawks because of the "chatter". The Hawks won't be the only ones in the Earl Thomas sweepstakes, as he has been linked to the Cowboys for quite some time.

"I am as happy as if I had won it", said Ramos of Modric's success.

"I would like to thank those who voted for me".

Modric beat Cristiano Ronaldo and Mo Salah to claim the top prize.

Former Chelsea man Thibaut Courtois was awarded the best goalkeeper award, after his Golden Glove-winning World Cup tournament with Belgium.

Organised by France Football magazine, the Kopa Trophy will be handed out as part of this year's Ballon d'Or ceremony in Paris on December 3. FIFA President Gianni Infantino presented Modric with the award.

Modric made 56 appearances for club and country as he won the Champions League and reached the World Cup final, in what he admitted was his "best ever" before the ceremony.

During the voting period from August 7, 2017 to May 24, 2018, Kerr led the Matildas to an all-time high world ranking (fourth), helped them make the final of the Asian Cup, and chalked up two wins against Marta's Brazil. "He deserves it, he is an excellent player and has marked an important era in the history of Real Madrid".

Other reports by GizPress

Discuss This Article