Luis Severino finishes ninth in the 2018 AL Cy Young voting

Doug Mendoza
November 15, 2018

Throughout the summer, there had been debate whether deGrom's low win total would hinder his Cy Young chances, but the voters clearly looked beyond won-loss record in picking deGrom ahead of Scherzer and Nola, who had 18 and 17 victories, respectively.

Jacob deGrom says he has not yet chosen a new agent after Brodie Van Wagenen left his agency to become Mets general manager, and the NL Cy Young Award victor is open to discussing a contract extension with NY.

Max Scherzer's league-leading stats in most pitching categories weren't enough to retain the Cy Young Award against the guy who led the majors in the most important category: ERA. He becomes the second Cy Young victor in Rays history, joining David Price (2012).

Tampa Bay Rays left-hander Blake Snell was named the American League Cy Young Award victor Wednesday, culminating a breakout season in his first full year in the majors. Kluber had 71 points, followed by Boston's Chris Sale and Houston's Gerrit Cole.

Though Scherzer led the NL in wins (18), innings (220 2/3), strikeouts (300) and WHIP (0.991), it was deGrom's miniscule 1.70 ERA that earned the 30-year-old his first career Cy Young Award to go along with his NL Rookie of the Year Award from 2014.

Michael Avenatti arrested on suspicion of domestic violence
The party was set to host Avenatti in Burlington on Friday and in White River Junction on Saturday. The LAPD , when contacted by Deadline, confirmed Avenatti's arrest but had no further details.

California Wildfire Toll: 9 Lives, Thousands of Homes, Buildings
Trump said "billions of dollars are given each year, with so many lives lost, all because of gross mismanagement of the forests". The group turned the other way and dashed down the paved street until it turned into dirt and passed the Fallons' farm, he said.

Microsoft pushes cumulative update build 18277.1006 to Fast ring Windows Insiders
More than a month after pulling the Windows 10 October Update , build 1809, Microsoft is re-releasing it to the general public. The update will first be available by either manually checking for updates or via media.

Snell, a former top prospect, broke out in his first full season as a big leaguer and thrust himself into the ranks of the elite with a dominant 2018 campaign.

For the first time since 2015, Max Scherzer is not the NL Cy Young Award victor. It had only been done four other times since 1969: by Greg Maddux twice (1994-95), Dwight Gooden (1985), and Nolan Ryan (1981). Scherzer got the other first-place vote. He got the first-place vote of John Maffei of the San Diego Union-Tribune, 29 seconds and 123 points.

deGrom is the first Met to win the Cy Young Award since R.A. Dickey in 2012. Philadelphia's Aaron Nola and Colorado's Kyle Freeland finished third and fourth, while Patrick Corbin, Miles Mikolas, Josh Hader, Mike Foltynewicz and Jon Lester rounded out the voting (full breakdown here).

The 2014 NL Rookie of the Year, he became the seventh rookie victor voted a Cy Young, joining fellow Mets Tom Seaver and Dwight Gooden.

Other reports by GizPress

Discuss This Article